Instagram Live Video

Here is all you need to know about Instagram Live Videos. You’ll rock at it too,

[toc]

instagram live videos

You can share a live video to connect with your followers in real time. Once a live video has ended, it’s no longer visible in the app, unless you share a replay of it to your story.

To start a live video:

  1. Tap  in the top left of the screen or swipe right from anywhere in Feed.
  2. Tap Live at the bottom of the screen, then tap Start Live Video.
  3. The number of viewers appears at the top of the screen and comments appear at the bottom. Tap Comment to add a comment, and tap and hold a comment to pin it to the top so that viewers can see it more easily.
  4. To turn comments off, tap  then select Turn Off Commenting. Keep in mind that any keyword filters you’ve turned on will also apply to comments on your live video.
  5. When you’re done, tap End in the top right then tap to confirm. From there, you can tap Save in the top right to save it to your camera roll, or share it to your story.

After you’ve ended a live video on Instagram, you can tap Save in the top right to save the video to your phone’s camera roll. Keep in mind that only the video is saved, and not things like comments, likes and viewers.

You’re only able to save a live video right after you’ve ended it. Only you will see the option to save your live video.

Note: It may take a minute for a live video to save to your phone, especially for longer videos.

Once your live video ends, you can share a replay of it. Like other photos and videos you share to stories, live video replays disappear from the app after 24 hours.

To share a replay of your live video, tap Share at the bottom of the screen after you’ve ended your live video. To discard your live video, tap  then select Discard. You can also tap Save in the top right to save it to your camera roll.

Live video replays include all the likes and comments from your original live video. The number of viewers for your live video includes everyone who watched the live video and the replay.

When someone you follow shares a live video, their profile picture will appear at the top of Feed with a colorful ring around it and the word Live. Tap their profile picture to view their live video.

While viewing someone’s live video, you can tap Comment at the bottom of the screen to leave a comment, and  to like their video. Anyone who’s viewing the video can see when you like or comment. You can also tap the screen to hide comments and likes.

Keep in mind that when you start viewing a live video, the person sharing and anyone else who’s viewing may be able to see that you’ve joined.

If someone has shared a live video replay to their story, you’ll see it at the top of feed with a play button and colorful ring around it. While viewing someone’s live video replay, you can tap the right or left side of the screen to skip forwards or backwards. If someone has shared multiple live video replays, you can tap the arrows at the top of the screen to skip between them.

While you can’t comment on a live video replay, you can respond to someone’s replay by sending a message in Direct.

There are 2 ways you can start a live broadcast with a friend on Instagram. You can invite a friend to join your live video or you can ask to join the live video of a friend.

To go live and then invite a friend to join your broadcast:

  1. Tap  in the top left of the screen or swipe right from anywhere in Feed.
  2. Tap Live at the bottom of the screen, then tap Start Live Video.
  3. Tap .
  4. Tap on a person’s name to invite them to join your live video. Keep in mind you can only invite someone who is already viewing your live video.
  5. If your friend accepts the invitation to join, you’ll see them appear in a split-screen view. You’ll also see if they’ve chosen to decline.
  6. You can remove the person you invited to join your live video at any time by tapping x at the top right corner of their split-screen.

To ask to join a friend’s live video that you’re watching:

  1. Tap Request when you see the option to request to join the live video.
  2. Tap Send Request
  3. You’ll receive a notice that you’re about to join the live video when your request is accepted.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *